The Kings (Naas)

Related: Caroline, Ohio, Capitol, Jimmy Dunny, Gallowglass

In 1963, Kildare musician Pat McGarr, leader of the famous Gallowglass Céili Band, thought that rather than transform his own band into a showband, that he would put a brand new band on the road and manage them himself, while continuing on with the Gallowglass. Thus The Kings Showband, based in Naas, Co, Kildare, were born. Four of the members came from The Jimmy Dunny Orchestra, Newbridge.

Vocals: Prince Vince, Pat Braiden, Butch Moore
Guitar: Tommy Fitzpatrick, Reg Dunne, Tommy Lundy
Bass: Prince Vince, Billy Hopkins
Trumpet: Billy Dempsey
Sax/Clarinet: Barry Cluskey, Brendan McEnhill
Trombone: Dusty Young, Brian O'Brien
Drums: Ronnie Reynolds, Des Hopkins


1965: He'll Only Hurt You/Where Can She Be? - Columbia IDB 742
1966: Beautiful Dreamer/I Fall To Pieces - Columbia IDB 749
1967: Amy/For Baby - Columbia


When Des and Billy Hopkins left The Kings, they formed a 4-piece band named Just 4. Niall Power was the bands' roadie and in his book, 'Timing Is Everything', he writes about his experiences with Just 4. you can read extracts from his book HERE
 Gateway | Showbands Index | Beat-Groups Index | Ceili bands | Contact IBA
Band photos, cuttings, posters, adverts, line-ups, etc. to be added to the online archive are always welcome and appreciated. If you have anything to contribute, please contact us.
© FKB | 2001-2021